Statutes of Limitations
If your inquiry pertains to a potential new case, please understand that unless both you and one of our injury lawyers have each signed the same written retainer and fee agreement, then neither this firm nor any of its attorneys have agreed to represent you. This statement applies even if you have received some information from one or more of our attorneys or visited with one of us at our office or elsewhere.
Connecticut Personal Injury Statutes of Limitations
If your potential claim involves a personal injury such as spinal cord injury or traumatic brain injury, it is essential that you contact our attorneys as soon as possible. Generally, the Connecticut statute of limitations requires that a suit be filed within two years from the date of the incident in order to preserve your right to pursue such a claim.
In some instances, if you are injured on public property or your injury was caused by the acts or omissions of a public employee or official, there may be a strict written notice requirement. Failure to comply with such a notice requirement may defeat your claim. For example, if your injury was caused by a defective highway or sidewalk, the written notice in statutory form must be filed within ninety (90) days of your injury. Notice of intent to file a claim against a municipal employee must be filed within one hundred eighty (180) days of the incident. The lawyers of Casper & de Toledo can help you make sure you have filed all the necessary paperwork concerning your case.
If your claim involves a medical malpractice or other healthcare malpractice claim in Connecticut, then the applicable statute of limitations is two years from the date of the malpractice or two years from the discovery of the malpractice, whichever is later, but in no event later than three years from the date of the malpractice. Under some circumstances, if you have continued to be treated by the healthcare provider after the date of the malpractice, then the statute of limitations applicable may be extended to two years from the date of the last treatment rendered by the healthcare providers. In addition, Connecticut law governing healthcare malpractice claims requires that no such lawsuit may be filed without a certificate of merit validating that a proper inquiry has been made and that the claim is meritorious. Every potential claimant in such a claim is entitled to secure from the Clerk of the Superior Court an extension of time on the statute of limitations of ninety (90) days in order to properly investigate the claim. Contact our personal injury attorneys in Stamford, Connecticut so we can protect your legal right to pursue damages for your injury.
Connecticut Employment Law Statutes of Limitations
If your claim involves employment discrimination, there are very short time periods for filing claims. If you believe you have been discriminated against because of race, gender, national origin, religion, age, disability, pregnancy or marital status, your claim must be filed with the Connecticut Commission of Human Rights and Opportunity and the Equal Opportunity Commission within 180 days of the discriminatory act. If you work for the federal government, your claim must be filed within 90 days.
If you believe you have been subjected to sexual harassment, that same 180 day time period applies. And, if you believe you have been retaliated against because you protested discrimination against you or someone else, that same 180 day time period also applies.
Connecticut Product Liability Law Statutes of Limitations
If your claim arises under Connecticut product liability law and involves a defective product, whether a consumer product including an automobile, industrial equipment, or pharmaceuticals, your claim must be brought within three years from the date when the injury or death is first sustained or discovered or in the exercise of reasonable care should have been discovered. In the event that the injury or death occurs as a result of the use of a product in the course of employment, the product seller and manufacturer may be insulated from responsibility if the injury or death occurs more than ten years after the manufacturer or seller parts with possession or control of the product.